Happy Halloween!

1 11 2011

Well, I figured I’d make a post (even though it’s almost 1am in China on November 1st) saying Happy Halloween.

I miss the “holiday” as it’s nice to see so many people getting into the spirit of Halloween, and not just for young kids either.

China (at least Chengdu) pretty much has very little knowledge about Halloween and the only places that threw Halloween parties were bars/clubs that almost strictly cater to foreigners.

I’m not much of a holiday person, not too into the whole celebrations myself but what I do love is seeing society in general all celebrating together. I think that’s the only reason I happen to like Halloween as with Christmas and other holidays it is all indoors and any/all celebrating is done behind closed doors. Halloween is obviously different as an army of short ghosts and witches parade with their bags down the street hoping to hit the sweet tooth jackpot as we all had our favorite houses to visit where we would remember previous year’s treats given out. Then you see the (usually) frozen parents straggling along as they wait patiently at the end of each driveway, usually in a cheerful mood at the beginning until they remember that after the first bag, they now have to carry it until the second or third bag is full. I assume it’s not a parent’s dream holiday, but it makes the kids go crazy, and it keeps the dentist busy for the next 6 months. Everybody wins!

After writing all of that, I wish I was a kid again dressing up as a ninja turtle.

Even though it’s 12:44pm right now in China and Halloween is past with no celebration, to those of you on the other side of the pond please enjoy your night, and drive responsibly!


Actions

Information

2 responses

1 11 2011
Mom

That was a great costume and one that suited you so well …. you were the ultimate ninja turtle ..
I spent many hours making that by hand for you which you loved……I wonder how many parents take the time these days to put the time and the love into each stitch instead of buying something off the rack…
Happy Halloween to you both ….

2 11 2011
Mom

Remember back when you did trick or treating how the streets were full of ghosts and goblins … and of course the ninja turtle.
Well last night we did not have 1 child or teen here.
I closed it up at 9 pm and nothing.
It is certainly not the same, even talking with friends on the net they are down probably over 50 % from last year. The temp was decent here and no rain.

Leave a comment